Ultra Sounds Monday, December 19, 2011

This week’s submission is from Pam Birrell.  I love this poem in a multitude of ways, but won’t rattle on about it because it speaks for itself so eloquently. Please do comment, however, if it resonates for you.

Pam gives the following background on herself:

I am a 15 year breast cancer survivor.  I battled aggressive breast cancer at the age of 32.

I am an angel parent.  My middle child died of cancer 10 years ago at the age of 8.  He battled stage 4 neuroblastoma for 4 years.

Here is a poem that I wrote last year as I reflected on those who could stand to walk with us on this horrible journey.

A Blessing for Darkness

by Pam Birrell

Sit with me this dark night

Let a kind word escape from your frightened mouth

And fall through the chasm to my wounded soul

Let your thoughts be free of criticism and judgement

Let respect flood into every dark crevice

Let there be no guilt when we know there is no light tonight

Sit with me this dark night

One thought on “Ultra Sounds Monday, December 19, 2011

  1. Deborah says:

    What a beautiful poignant poem – gets to the heart and teaches us how to be with those experiencing the pain of the soul. Thank you!

Leave a comment