I am not my belly

As you can imagine, my belly is a strong topic of conversation with people I meet. After I get over making them feel better for thinking I am pregnant, a long discussion of my condition usually ensues. For the most part I don’t mind this except that right away people see me through the lens of my illness. I don’t usually have the opportunity to just be a person for a while before revealing this piece of myself.

Most conversation will then revolve around my health. While I have heaps of things I could talk about, most people who meet me simply want to know the gory details,  offer me some kind of benediction and move on.

I stumbled upon this article by an author who addresses this exact question of being defined by one’s illness.

http://journeyingbeyondbreastcancer.com/2011/06/28/avoiding-the-%E2%80%9Cspinach-effect%E2%80%9D-not-letting-cancer-define-me/

Let me know what you think.

Sam